Fullscreen
Loading...
 
[Show/Hide Right Column]

Users Management




General

Users management is done by the admin of the Tiki, or any other users in a group with the permission to admin users granted (tiki_p_admin_users). User A in a group with that permission will be able to raise permissions of other user B, up to the higher group within the group hierarchy within Tiki, but not higher than that.

A common scenario of group hierarchy could be: "Anonymous < Registered < Contributors < Editors < Admins".

A user of the Editors group, when it has been granted that tiki_p_admin_users permission, will be able to raise users in the Registered to the groups Contributors and/or to Editors, but not to Admins.

Users can either be added by the admin or they can register themselves from the homepage. When some users register themselves, they receive an email with a confirmation link. This concludes their registration. They automatically become members of the default group "Registered" and are entitled to all the rights that you have given to this group. For more information see the groups management page.

Adding a new user

After you have installed the software and logged in as the admin you will see the Menu on the left side. One of the items is Admin.

You can manage users of your Tiki through "Admin (menu) > Users" (tiki-adminusers.php).

Remember that to unfold the menu entries under one section you need to
click on section name ( Tiki13 ), or pass the mouse over the section name ( Tiki3-Tiki12 ), or click on the plus sign (+) on the right of Admin in earlier versions (it can be changed for a double colon sign ": :" or a folder image displayed on the left later).

This Admin Users screen shows the form for adding a user, and a list of current users with their relevant information. The user administration screen allows admins to create and edit users. You can create new users (useful if users can't register themselves), remove users and assign groups to a particular user. You can find users by login name using the find button at the top of the listing (it will act as a filter).

Click to expand
Click to expand


Enter the name of a new user, that (s)he is going to use on your system, in the User field. Be sure to use only a combination of A..Z, a..z, 0-9. Other characters in the username may be problematic.

You can either create a password for the new user or have the system generate one for you by clicking on the Generate a password link. When you generate a password, copy it in both of the password fields. The repeat password field is there to make sure that you entered the password that you intended and to ensure that you can login with that password.

Fill in the email address and finish the registration with a click on the "Add" button.

The new user will receive an email that will ask for confirmation of the registration by clicking on a URL that is in the confirmation email. When the user clicks on the link (s)he is registered and automatically logged in.

Adding new users in bulk

You can upload a list of users from a file. The file needs to be in a CSV format.

Click to expand
Click to expand


The first line will contain the list of field names. The fields are login, password, email and groups. The next lines have a user per line.

login,password,email,groups,default_group,realName
user1,pass1,email1,group1,group1,Real Name1
user2,pass2,email2,"group1,group2",group1,Real Name2


Notes:
  • Only login, password, email are mandatory.
  • Use an empty password for automatic password generation.
  • Use same login and email if the login use email.
  • Groups are separated by comma.
  • With group name with comma, double the comma.
  • These groups must exist, unless you click at the checkbox to create the groups if they are missing.

Additional options in the feature to import users in bulk through csv file are:
Parameter Description
Overwrite groups: Select this if you want the groups to be overwritten
Create groups: Select this if you want the new groups indicated in the csv file to be created
User must change password at first login: Select this if you want to force the user to change their passwords the first time that they log in to Tiki site
Send an email to the user in order to allow him to validate his account. Select this if you want to require users to validate first their email account prior to their first login.


Example of CSV File


Example of CSV File for Batch Upload
login,password,email,groups,default_group,realName
John Doe,passe,john@example.com,"Editors,Foo",Foo,John Doe Jr.
durant,passe,durant@example.com,Foo,Foo,Mary Durant


Adding a user to a group

Click the Key icon next to the user you want to assign a group to.

Click to expand
Click to expand


You will see a list of groups available below the User Information
Under action you can click what group you want to add this user to

Click to expand
Click to expand



Finding a user

In the user management module there is a field where you can enter the name of a user that you want to find. The name you enter doesn't need to be exactly like the name you want to find. It is for instance not case sensitive. To search on part of a name is also supported. Searching on 'an' finds all the users with 'an' somewhere in their username.

Since Tiki12 you can also use the Jquery Sortable Tables interface, which allows for a more interactive management of the users list.

Click to expand
Click to expand


You can enable it in "Admin home > Features > Interface > jQuery plugins and add-ons > Experimental > jQuery Sortable Tables".

You can find more information on the jQuery Sortable Tables here:
http://doc.tiki.org/jQuery#jQuery_Sortable_Tables

Filters

Filters in this screen provide several ways to select just some users from the whole list:

Click to expand
Click to expand


Actions on many users at once

You can do some actions at once on a multiple selection of users:

Click to expand
Click to expand



Deleting a user

To delete a user, click on the red cross behind the users name. You are asked to confirm the deletion, go back to the user management module or return to the homepage. After confirmation the user is deleted.

Modifying existing user information

Click on the corresponding icons of the "Actions" column from the users list. This way you will be able to:
  • Assign the user to groups, as explained above.
  • Edit Account Settings
  • Change User Preferences
  • See More User Information
  • Delete the User

Groups management

See Groups Management

related

alias

doc.tiki.org
[toggle]





Site Language

Keywords

These keywords serve as "hubs" for navigation within the Tiki documentation. They correspond to development keywords (bug reports and feature requests):



Tiki Newsletter

Delivered fresh to your email inbox!
Newsletter subscribe icon
Don't miss major announcements and other news!
Contribute to Tiki